Writing is My Shout

“When you hear them sound a long blast on the trumpets, have the whole army give a loud shout; then the wall of the city will collapse and the army will go up, everyone straight in.”  Joshua 6:5

I’m believing God for so much right now. I know it’s not just me; you’re probably trusting Him with a lot in your plate too. It’s exhausting sometimes, isn’t it? I was on the train, dragged down. I couldn’t sleep; I didn’t want to listen to music; my mind was mush. 

I pulled out my writing journal and scribbled jumbled half thoughts and then scribbled more half thoughts on top of that writing. I wanted the paper to look as deranged as I felt at that moment. Some days are like that. It is what it is. Sometimes I’m a brat. Sometimes I’m weak. Sometimes I’m discouraged and overwhelmed. Sometimes I get so exhausted with juggling faith and circumstance. 

Admittedly, I get weary, being this Faith Walking Momma, I’m not just managing my life, faith and the delicate balance of day to day challenges ā€” I have three young adults that I’m helping to walk the walk. My husband is an awesome dad and he’s totally in the scene, but it’s sort of like during those wakeful nights, when the kids were tots, why did they dash in the room right pass my sleeping husband and come to my side of the bed? I’m the first call. I guess that’s why I actually love sitting in the quiet car on the train, I unplug. For an hour and 10 minutes, I don’t talk. I can recharge or write. 

On days like this I especially love to read Streams in the Desert. God find me there. I read the September 4th passage, perhaps God was saying I was a day late — perhaps I wouldn’t have been on empty if I’d taken time out to read yesterday. At any rate, the passage was based on Joshua 6:5. 

“The shout of steadfast faith is in direct contrast to the moans of wavering faith, and to the wails of discouraged hearts.” 
This passage in Streams in the Desert rang loud and clear in my spirit.  At once I knew, writing is my shout. God, spoke to my soul ā€” don’t scribble; sit up and write. Write like you believe it is done; believe what you write. 

Lord, hear my faith loud and clear, in the outpour of my words. 

Leave a comment