I’m in deep reflection right now. I literally stopped in my tracks to knock myself in the head, an absolute V8 moment; our 24th wedding anniversary is Sunday. It’s not that the date snuck up on me or my husband. We were actually just rolling the revelation around on our plate of things to do, schedule conflicts, who’s where and how they’re getting there… It was just part of a typical household management power meeting at the start of the day. 

My V8 moment was more like, “how did we get here?!” I was standing in the doorway of my husband’s recording studio, looking at so much life. We’ve lived so much life in the past 24 years. Our careers, kids, homes… 

Then it’s interesting to thing is the family tree is a very real thing because from us have come three thriving branches. Their individual growth and promise is mind blowing. It’s nothing we ever imagined or dreamed. We were so happy go lucky, going with the flow. 

We didn’t have any long range plans, we just had this inkling that God had a special purpose for us. We’ve never been able to put our finger on it. At any given time we’ve called out one accomplishment, passion or mission as that purpose. I guess it’s been all of that and more. Because, we remain committed, strong and still walking with a “sense” of purpose.  

As I think about being almost silver, think about who we are, as much we accomplished and many blessings we can count and the essence of God’s presence in our home, we have a simple life. We don’t have money to sweep each other away for a romantic weekend or a fancy dinner. Our anniversary celebration will be to walk with the satisfaction that we paid the mortgage, our son’s first tuition payment, our share of our daughter’s rent… a laundry list of expenses that the responsible adults we’ve become make a priority. We come last.

We are definitely older, we are still filled with a spirit of expectation and possibility. God plants the seeds and they latch in in our spirit. That’s the only way I can explain how at our 24th anniversary, my husband enrolled in college. His accelerated program orientation is scheduled for two days after his 60th birthday. Yes, I think it’s very cool. It’s like we’ve taken in so much life over the past 24 years, now he’s going back to take another bite. 

As for me, I’m publishing a book. A collection of writing from our journey. He’s pouring more in and I seem to be overflowing and on a season of sharing. With the same clarity he has to be a student again, I feel a calling to make many life lessons and colorful experiences, and powerful testimonies. 

So, at almost silver, we continue to evolve as individuals and soulmates. As Pete Seeger, would say, “who knows, who knows…” Lord, keep your loving arms around us keep our unconditional love ever-flowing. 

