Before I could give it another thought, I spotted the river and the sunset. They became my reflection.

It was fast approaching dusk and the train was chasing the sunset. My eyes were glued to the window as we blew through Harlem and into the Bronx. I was waiting to catch a glimpse of at least an edge of the sunset. I had my phone out, ready to capture the moment.  Then, I spotted my reflection in the window.

I put my phone down and stared back at my reflection. My initial thought was to spot the likeness of my mother. But, no actually, I didn’t see that nearly as much as the grown up version of the person that I carry inside.

I saw a woman who has three young adult kids and a loving husband of 23 years. A seasoned career woman with a solid 30 years of professional experience under her collar. I admired the eclectic mix of accessories and layered clothing.

I couldn’t see her eyes, but her glasses made her look serious. I wondered if she was really that serious or was it just a reflection of her wisdom.

Before I could give it another thought, I spotted the river and the sunset. They became my reflection.

